Call us today
+44 (0) 1376 505160
Client login

Call us today +44 (0) 1376 505160

Latest news on freight and logisitics relevant to Velta
< Back to News list

Remaining countries get on board with REX system

 import and export trade


January 2019 marks the point at which the remaining countries due to enter into the Registered Exporter System (REX) are incorporated.


What is REX (the Registered Exporter System)

The REX system replaces the systems of certification of origin by public authorities and has been rolled out in stages since 2017.

REX enables an exporter to provide self-certification of the origin of goods. It offers exporters in GSP beneficiary countries and EU companies wanting to export materials, parts or components to GSP beneficiary countries for manufacture in those trade areas (which will then be re-imported), the capability to take advantage of trade agreements such as the partial or complete removal of trade tariffs.


Which countries are registered to REX?

Countries have been incorporated into the Registered Exporter System over three stages, with at each stage, a transitional period of 12 months, with the option for a six month extension to this period:


January 2017

Angola, Burundi, Bhutan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Micronesia, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea Bissau, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Liberia, Mali, Nauru, Nepal, Niue Island, Pakistan, Solomon Islands, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sao Tomé & Principe, Chad, Togo, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Yemen and Zambia.


January 2018

Afghanistan, Armenia, Bolivia, Ivory Coast, Eritrea, Gambia, Guinea, Malawi, Mozambique, Myanmar, Niger, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria and Tanzania


January 2019

Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Haiti, Indonesia, Kyrgyz Republic, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritania, Mongolia, Nigeria, Paraguay, Philippines, Samoa, Senegal, Tajikistan, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu and Vietnam


As with those countries where REX was implemented in 2017 and 2018, the implementation of the remaining countries to REX will be achieved via a transitional period of 12 months.


If your business is involved in trade with countries joining at this stage but you have not registered for REX previously, you can register online at HMRC, application to become a registered exporter